Transferred

Today Karen was transferred out of the ICU to a regular hospital room. Her condition is considered non critical in that she does not need ICU type care – all vitals have been stable. She is though still fighting the infection and recovering from the surgery. Unfortunately it appears that the cancer is prohibiting the healing of the incision and as a result we may not be able to continue with chemo therapy. Our earlier goal was to start a new version of chemo roughly the week after next in order to allow for her body to regain its strength but that was before we learned of the healing issue. She will continue to receive the antibiotics but all we can do is pray that her incision heals, infection is brought under control and she is able to regain some strength in a timely fashion that will allow for continued cancer treatment.

With this new info Karen has decided that she would like come home and be with us vs. at the hospital. We will be working toward that goal over the next couple of days in hopes that she will be able to enjoy some time with friends and family.

As for how is she doing? There is no real consistency in that some days she is able to hold a small conversation and others she has a hard time staying awake and being coherent enough to have a conversation. We really do not know what the next day will bring due to all of the variables she is dealing with at this time. Today happened to be one of those better days.

-michael

Karen & Ella 12/04

9 Responses to “Transferred”


  1. 1 Susan Mitchell August 18, 2008 at 8:58 am

    Dear Karen, Michael, and Family,

    Again, your courage and strength amaze and inspire all those who are so privileged to know you. Thank you for keeping us informed of Karen’s condition. The pictures you have attached are beautiful and capture the essence of the beautiful and loving lady Karen is.

    My prayers continue to be with you all and may God grant that you have Karen home soon where she can be surrounded by the love and support of her family and friends.

    Love,
    Susan

  2. 2 Ellen Walker August 18, 2008 at 12:40 pm

    Hi Karen and Michael – Just got a chance to read the blog and am glad you made it out of ICU! I have to go to the hospital tomorrow morning and will try to stop by for a minute. If it’s not a good time I will just leave a little something at the nurse’s station for you. Hopefully you will be at home with the girls very soon. Love, Ellen

  3. 3 cindy conrad and family August 18, 2008 at 12:47 pm

    Karen and Michael, Not a day goes by (and lately it seems not a moment goes by) that I don’t think of you and your family. Both of you and your strength and fight continue to amaze all of us! I am so glad to hear Karen is out of ICU and it is wonderful that she wants to go home….where she belongs….with you and the girls and close friends! I pray that happens very, very soon! We will continue to send comforting and positive thoughts! XOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXO Cindy and Family
    PS The pictures you have attached lately are so,so beautiful and wonderful to see!
    Thank you!!!!

  4. 4 Judy & Ed August 18, 2008 at 6:52 pm

    Dear Karen and Michael: We have followed your blog on a daily basis and when there are no updates, Matt has filled us in. You both are strong and courageous as you fight this battle. Your inner strength is amazing. We think about you both daily along with your girls and your parents and we hope that our prayers, along with all the others on your behalf, will be answered. This is undoubtedly the biggest battle you will both face; you are waging it graciously. We admire you both. Karen – you are a beautiful person both inwardly and outwardly and the photos Michael has posted reflect this beauty.
    Hugs to you both from both of us.
    Judy

  5. 5 Joanna Cohen August 18, 2008 at 9:35 pm

    Dear Karen and Michael,

    I am an old camp friend of Karen’s, and I was told about this blog from our Aide group, Vanessa Tomasic passing it on to Lorraine Besser, to me. Karen, I know we haven’t been in touch in those many years since camp, but I wanted to just let you know how much I am thinking of you during this difficult time. I have been reading through the blog, and I am unbelievably impressed by your strength. In addition, I am awestruck by your rock of a family. Michael, from what I’ve read on this site, Karen is incredibly lucky to have you as a partner in life.

    I am living in Newton again these days, and if you find yourself back in Boston for further treatment, I would be happy to help in any way – bring food, run errands, anything that would be useful. In the meantime, stay strong and know that the Nokomis spirit is pulling for you.

    Joanna Cohen Greenstein

  6. 6 Sean & Kathy Meagher and Family August 19, 2008 at 2:55 pm

    Hi Karen & Michael,

    We want you to know that you are in our thoughts & prayers and we pray that you recover quickly so that your treatments can continue. Keep fighting. We, too, need to see your smiling face at at the next family gathering. Please let us know if there is anything any of you need.
    Love,
    Sean, Kathy, Connor & Mary

  7. 7 Diane Gallant August 19, 2008 at 6:25 pm

    Dear Karen and Michael,
    Again, my heart felt wishes for peace and blessings for all of you.

    You are wonderful, Karen, and an inspiration on how to be a loving mother, wife, daughter, and friend. I will always count you as one of the “very special people” in my life… your friendship and love will always be with me. I feel blessed to be able to count you as a friend. Thank you for your enduring friendship, steadfastness and lightheartedness. You truly are an inspiration. I hold you tightly and dearly to my heart.
    Love Diane

  8. 8 Amy Jones August 19, 2008 at 7:43 pm

    Dear Karen & Michael,

    I was in my classroom at Portsmouth Middle School today organizing and dusting when I realized that half of my classroom bins and supplies are those that Karen used and generously gave to me when she opted to stay home with Ella. THANK YOU, Karen! You were an amazing teacher to Portsmouth’s children and continue to be an incredible mom and teacher to Hazel & Ella.

    I hope that you are able to leave the hospital in the next day or two. Time with your family and friends in your new house will be a boost to both of you.

    I would love to visit for a short while if you feel up to it and will touch base via Michael’s cell.

    Take care and again, know that I am thinking of you……Matt and Ben also said to say hello.

    Love, Amy

  9. 9 Karen Crowley August 19, 2008 at 10:17 pm

    Hi Karen,

    I just recently heard about your illness and want you to know I will continue to keep you and your family in my prayers.

    I am returning to Portsmouth School District, not as a tech this time…but as the computer teacher at LHS and am eager to get started.

    I have remained in contact with Ryan and the tech department a bit but not too many people at Dondero, so I apologize for the delay in contacting you.

    May God bless you at this time and I know your beautiful spirit and love for life itself will continue to nourish you.

    Karen Crowley


Leave a comment




August 2008
M T W T F S S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Recent Comments