Infection

It has been a few days since the surgery and so far it appears to be a success. The perforation has been addressed via a Colostomy bag and her digestive track is back up and working since the surgery.

We are concerned though that the left over infection is not responding as well to the antibiotics as expected. She continues to be overly tired and her white cell count is not dropping as fast as they would like. As a result she is staying in the ICU until there is a clear indication if her body will be able to win this battle. She has a lot going for her in terms of her inner strength but there is a serious concern that the infection is so rampant that she might not recover.

I found writing this entry to be difficult at best considering I am putting to words thoughts that have been in our minds for the past few weeks – end of life. We pray that she will pull through…and will be able to continue her chemo treatment. These next few days will be telling on what the future will hold for us.

-michael

20 Responses to “Infection”


  1. 1 Amanda (BWH) August 13, 2008 at 11:19 pm

    hey-

    i didn’t even know you guys had this page, (carol let me know) I’m sorry to hear all of this is happening, I just want you to know that you are in my thoughts and prayers, and to stay positive because you are a strong and brave woman. you have a lot to live for and lots of people that love and care about you. please keep me updated!

    Amanda (from BWH)

  2. 2 Kristen August 14, 2008 at 7:24 am

    Michael, you have amazed me through this whole thing. Karen has been blessed with you, a strong partner who is her rock. I am so glad you put the picture of Karen smiling. That is the way she looks in my mind’s eye. It is so difficult to see her so sick and weak. It helps to keep in mind the essence of who she is………a happy, loving friend. I pray for God to hold her in the palm of His hand. Love, Kristen

  3. 3 Heidi White August 14, 2008 at 7:32 am

    Dear Karen,
    You and your family are in my thoughts and prayers. All of my love, positive energy and peace to you, Heidi

  4. 4 Fred Hedemark August 14, 2008 at 8:00 am

    Michael & Karen,
    We will keep on praying for God’s best for all of you. I will share again today all the updates with our staff and we will all be praying for you today. I keep thinking about a verse from Joshua.. it says…”So, be strong and courageous. Do not be terrified; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go.”
    Sending you our love & prayers,
    Marianne & Fred

  5. 5 Joyce August 14, 2008 at 8:51 am

    Hi Karen

    So nice to see your smiling face

    Prayers and love are sent your way

    Be strong

    Joyce

  6. 6 Jennifer Read August 14, 2008 at 9:07 am

    Karen, you are beautiful! What a wonderful picture! Your strength is amazing, as is yours Michael. Thanks so much for sharing such a difficult and personal journey for you and your family. We are rooting for you all! You are always in my thoughts and prayers.

  7. 7 Kerry Swift August 14, 2008 at 9:50 am

    My mom gave me some words that gave me comfort through our own journey: “We are all eternally safe” May you find your own comfort and strength with them too. Michael, again, your strength is awesome and thank you. Karen – you are just gorgeous, strong, and tough. Keep fighting those nasty microbes! Hugs and much love to you all. K

  8. 8 Helene Rafferty August 14, 2008 at 10:54 am

    Dear Karen,
    I hope you know that you and your family have been in my thoughts and prayers since you became ill. I want you to know that I am right now putting my arms around you and praying for healing. You are a strong and courageous woman.
    Love you,
    Helene

  9. 9 Bridgette Springer August 14, 2008 at 12:50 pm

    Hi Michael and Karen-
    Please let Karen know that I say hello, and I am knitting a sweater for Hailey! Karen taught me how to knit five years ago starting with a little baby hat that had LOTS of holes in it. So everytime I pick up my knitting I smile thinking back to how patient Karen was with me when she was teaching me how to knit – purl! I think of her constantly please let her know that.

    Bridgette

  10. 10 Jeff Palmer August 14, 2008 at 1:41 pm

    Karen and Michael,

    Know that our blessings and thoughts are with you every day and in the future days.

    Many hugs and much love,

    Jeff & Rebecca

  11. 11 Brian and Marna August 14, 2008 at 4:04 pm

    We are pulling for you both. Our thoughts and prayers are with you through this. Love to you both. Breeze and Marna

  12. 12 Susan Mitchell August 14, 2008 at 6:43 pm

    Dear Michael, Karen and Family,

    My thoughts and prayers continue to be with you each and every moment. You are an amazing couple and family. Your strength, love, faith, and courage are an example for us all. May God fill you with His peace, wisdom, strength and love. He is holding you close and He is with you every step of the way…keep your faith,love, and hope strong and alive.

    God Bless All of You,

    Susan

  13. 13 Amy Jones August 14, 2008 at 8:43 pm

    Dear Michael & Karen,

    As I have said before, you guys are incredibly amazing fighters. If anyone can beat this infection you two can. And… there are a tremendous amount of people rooting for you…..the power of positive thinking can work wonders!

    The picture of Karen smiling on the blog is lovely….let’s hope that you beat this infection, are able to handle the chemo and that you’ll have a similar photo taken when you’re well!

    Please take care and again, know that all of our thoughts and prayers are with you. The power of positive thinking can truly make a difference!

    Love,

    Amy

  14. 14 Anna Leijon-Guth and Family August 14, 2008 at 9:47 pm

    Dear Karen and Mike
    You are in my thoughts and prayers daily. I keep saying as a mantra…Karen is strong as an ox and she will pull through…Your courage and strength is amazing and an inspiration for everyone around you. Keep fighting, all of my love and positive healing energy!
    Anna

  15. 15 Debbie Pauquette August 14, 2008 at 9:53 pm

    Michael, Karen, and extended family,

    May God guide you and your family through these difficult days. I hope and pray for Karen’s condition to improve. May you know that your family is never forgotten. Keep the faith. Love to all.

    Deb Pauquette
    UNH Roommate

  16. 16 Brian & Marna Carroll August 15, 2008 at 1:25 am

    Hi Karen, Hang in there. We’re all pulling for you. Mike, be stong. We’ve all been there (having someone so close to us be so ill), or we all will someday. Few weather it with the grace and fortitude that the two of you have shown. Keep hope alive!

  17. 17 David Williams August 15, 2008 at 6:50 am

    Mike and Karen-

    My thoughts and positive energy are with you two; be strong and take one day at a time.

    David Williams

  18. 18 Katie Rainer August 16, 2008 at 10:21 pm

    Dear Karen, Michael and family,

    My thoughts and prayers continue to be with you each and every day. You are blessed to have such an amazing family and such wonderful friends supporting you throughout this ordeal. All my love and peace.

    Your friend,

    Katie
    xoxo

  19. 19 Ellen August 17, 2008 at 7:15 pm

    MAY GOD WATCH OVER YOU…….LOVE MARK AND ELLEN

  20. 20 Bridgette Springer August 18, 2008 at 8:08 pm

    What a beautiful picture of Karen and Ella, I pray for you all every night, and think of you every day. My family went through my dad having cancer when I was young – it is so tough.

    Bridgette


Leave a comment




August 2008
M T W T F S S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Recent Comments